Phill Niblock.

The Foundation for Contemporary Arts (FCA), a New York nonprofit arts organization, has announced the recipients of the 2014 John Cage Award, the Robert Rauschenberg Award and its Grants to Artists.

The Cage Award, including a prize of $50,000, goes to New York-based avant-garde musician and performance artist Phill Niblock. Composer Elodie Lauten receives $30,000 as the winner of the Rauschenberg Award. The Grants for Artists ($30,000 each), in dance, music/sound, performance art/theater, poetry and visual arts, are presented to 13 artists and one collective, each from the United States.

Niblock is known for his multimedia performance installations, which often incorporate elements of film and photography in addition to sound.

Lauten creates music that spans a wide variety of genres and formats including orchestra, chamber music, opera and electronic music.

Founded by Cage and Jasper Johns, the FCA has provided over 2,300 unrestricted grants worth nearly $11 million to artists and arts organizations. This year, in honor of the organization's 50th anniversary and of 20 years of the Grants for Artists program, the foundation increased the awards from $25,000 to $30,000 each. The list of Grants for Artists honorees follows.


Lance Gries, New York, N.Y.
Trajal Harrell, New York, N.Y.
Heather Kravas, Seattle, Wash.
Okwui Okpokwasili, Brooklyn, N.Y.


James Fei, Oakland, Calif.
Jeph Jerman, Cottonwood, Ariz.
John King, New York, N.Y.

Performance Art/Theater

Black-Eyed Susan, New York, N.Y.
Matthew Goulish and Lin Hixson, Chicago, Ill.
Annie-B Parson, Brooklyn, N.Y.


Ted Greenwald, New York, N.Y.
Eileen Myles, New York, N.Y.

Visual Arts

Wardell Milan, New York, N.Y.
Cauleen Smith, Chicago, Ill.