Art in America - Most Recent The most recent items from Art in America. http://www.artinamericamagazine.com Fri, 06 Mar 2015 07:35:32 +0100 FeedCreator 1.7.2 Meriç Algün Ringborg http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/meri-algn-ringborg/ <p>&ldquo;A Work of Fiction (Revisited),&rdquo; 2013-14, actualizes the example sentences that dictionary editors provide to demonstrate word usage.&nbsp;</p> By Mark Prince Mon, 02 Mar 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-ringborg_155925652554.jpg_standalone.jpg Whose Name Was Writ in Water http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/magazine/whose-name-was-writ-in-water/ <p>Robert Gober's recent retrospective at New York's Museum of Modern Art prompts expansive reflections on the legacy of the readymade, the nature of obscenity and the poetics of plumbing.&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> By Ariana Reines Mon, 02 Mar 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/27/img-robert-gober-1_103419878386.jpg_wide_hthumb.jpg In the Studio: Jaanus Samma http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/magazine/in-the-studio-jaanus-samma/ <p>In the last few years, Estonia's Jaanus Samma (b. 1982) has emerged as one of the most widely recognized artists of Baltic Europe, primarily for his queer themes and interventionist methods rather than any particular medium or style.</p> By Travis Jeppesen Mon, 02 Mar 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/03/02/img-in-the-studio-jaanus-samma_165750999394.jpg_wide_hthumb.jpg Into the Marketplace, Comrades! http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/magazine/into-the-marketplace-comrades/ <p>China's huge economy, rapid urbanization, environmental and social problems, and swelling ranks of both millionaires and migrant workers are not the only things that capture headlines in the West.</p> By Henry Meyric Hughes Mon, 02 Mar 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/03/02/img-into-the-marketplace-comrades_172657636429.jpg_wide_hthumb.jpg Ken Okiishi http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/ken-okiishi/ <p>American artist Ken Okiishi&rsquo;s second solo show at Mathew, &ldquo;Eggleston und Andere,<em>&nbsp;</em>&lsquo;reality bites,&rsquo;<em>&rdquo;</em>&nbsp;made numerous art historical references while at the same time attempting to free itself from them.&nbsp;</p> By Elvia Wilk Sat, 28 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/19/img-okiish_112430521710.jpg_standalone.jpg Pussy Riot Realness http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/magazine/pussy-riot-realness/ <p>The Russian guerrilla performance group brings its message of radical feminism to U.S. television.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> By Johanna Fateman Fri, 27 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/27/img-pussy-riot-5_09371133810.jpg_wide_hthumb.jpg Mark Lewis http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/mark-lewis/ <p>Mark Lewis makes short silent films that command a viewer&rsquo;s attention without relying on narrative devices.&nbsp;</p> By Toronto, Daniel Faria, Milena Tomic Wed, 25 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-mark-lewis_155526737316.jpg_standalone.jpg Richard Tuttle http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/richard-tuttle/ <p>An accounting of the visible world&nbsp;<em>and&nbsp;</em>the invisible world: this is one definition of art offered by Richard Tuttle.&nbsp;</p> By Travis Jeppesen Wed, 25 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-tuttle_155727328634.jpg_standalone.jpg Cécile B. Evans http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/ccile-b-evans/ <p>A hyperlink is a &ldquo;reference to external data that a reader can open either by clicking or by hovering over a point of origin,&rdquo; to quote the first entry in the press release-cum-glossary for C&eacute;cile B. Evans&rsquo;s solo exhibition &ldquo;Hyperlinks,<em>&rdquo;</em>&nbsp;which itself quotes Wikipedia without attribution.</p> By Harry Burke Wed, 25 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-evans_155841582567.jpg_standalone.jpg From the Archives: Helms, Censorship, and the Serpent http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/news/from-the-archives-arts-contradiction-helms-censorship-and-the-serpent/ <p>In light of January&rsquo;s <em>Charlie Hebdo</em> massacre in Paris, freedom of speech has become a front-of-mind issue once more. Yet, for all the grimness of ongoing external threats, artists in the land of the Patriot Act and National Security Agency phone surveillance might do well to guard, too, against powerful domestic threats to the First Amendment&mdash;a point reinforced by director Laura Poitras&rsquo;s Oscar win last Sunday for <em>Citizenfour</em>.</p> By Douglas Davis Tue, 24 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/23/img-may-1990-cover_121935747691.jpg_standalone.jpg Larry Sultan http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/larry-sultan/ <p>A pivotal photograph in this retrospective is a favorite of mine that Larry Sultan and I discussed briefly four years before his death in 2009, at age 63.</p> By Colin Westerbeck Tue, 24 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/19/img-sultan_10522150175.jpg_standalone.jpg Christian Herman Cummings http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/christian-herman-cummings/ <p>This conceit is a curious one that Cummings (and Hanks-Todd) has (have) developed into complex, humorously lyrical works that employ surprisingly simple materials.&nbsp;</p> By Keith J. Varadi Tue, 24 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-cummings_155340693430.jpg_standalone.jpg Benjamin Britton http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/benjamin-britton/ <p>Benjamin Britton&rsquo;s paintings have a commanding presence, and not just because of their size, which in the intimately scaled galleries at Marcia Wood seemed to be larger than life.&nbsp;</p> By Stephanie Cash Mon, 23 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-britton_155011401464.jpg_standalone.jpg Alan Shields http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/alan-shields-1/ <p>&ldquo;More is more&rdquo; seems to be the default setting for a lot of painting and three-dimensional work made since the late 1960s.</p> By Richard Kalina Fri, 20 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-shields_153959797475.jpg_standalone.jpg Alex Da Corte and Jayson Musson http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/alex-da-corte-and-jayson-musson/ <p><em>Easternsports&nbsp;</em>(2014) is a collaborative installation by Alex Da Corte and Jayson Musson with two and a half hours of atmospheric video on four channels, and a disjointed essay-poem of tens of thousands of words running through the subtitles.</p> By Brian Droitcour Fri, 20 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-da-corte-and-musson_154903557975.jpg_standalone.jpg Adam Putnam http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/adam-putnam/ <p>Adam Putnam examines the social and aesthetic dimensions of human bodies, often by pushing the physical limits of his own.&nbsp;</p> By William J. Simmons Thu, 19 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-putnam_153736196185.jpg_standalone.jpg Stanley Lewis http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/stanley-lewis/ <p>Clotted with paint, stapled or glued together in sections so that they are as patched and dog-eared as an old map, Stanley Lewis&rsquo;s observational paintings and drawings depict the small-town middle-class world familiar to readers of John Updike&rsquo;s fiction.</p> By Julian Kreimer Thu, 19 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-lewis_153847242957.jpg_standalone.jpg Let the Light In: Pierre Huyghe in Los Angeles http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/interviews/let-the-light-in-pierre-huyghersquos-first-us-retrospective-comes-to-los-angeles/ <p>The French artist speaks with <em>A.i.A.</em> about the hysterics of the art object, the importance of relinquishing control and why he loves feeling like a stranger in his own exhibition.<strong><br /></strong></p> By Emily Nathan Wed, 18 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/17/img-huyghe-1_134123363199.jpg_wide_hthumb.jpg Sam Samore http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/sam-samore-1/ <p>Sam Samore&rsquo;s new show, &ldquo;Accumulation of Shapes (Part One),&rdquo; appealed to a certain kind of spectator&mdash;clingy and obsessive in relationships.&nbsp;</p> By Dan Allegretto Tue, 17 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-samore_153324284954.jpg_standalone.jpg From the A.i.A. Archives: Japan’s Gutai Group http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/news/from-the-aia-archives-japanrsquos-gutai-group-1968/ <p>Where does play end and art begin? The interest in such questions, largely fostered by the 2013 exhibition &ldquo;Gutai: Splendid Playground&rdquo; at the Guggenheim Museum in New York, has now prompted a resurgent fascination with the work of this high-energy postwar Japanese group.&nbsp;In&nbsp;<em>A.i.A.</em>&rsquo;s November/December 1968 issue, former&nbsp;<em>Japan Times&nbsp;</em>critic Martin Cohen offered a penetrating assessment, both collective and individual, of the avant-garde &ldquo;antics&rdquo; of the &ldquo;madcap&rdquo; artists.</p> By Martin Cohen Tue, 17 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 Gedi Sibony http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/gedi-sibony/ <p>Gedi Sibony pursued a disarming new direction in his fourth show at Greene Naftali.</p> By Brian Boucher Fri, 13 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-sibony_153540928800.jpg_standalone.jpg Vivian Maier http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/vivian-maier/ <p>It can be difficult to disentangle Vivian Maier&rsquo;s photographs from the Vivian Maier story.</p> By Jean Dykstra Thu, 12 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-maier_153132385734.jpg_standalone.jpg John Walker http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/john-walker-1/ <p>There aren&rsquo;t many painters making abstractions as convincing as John Walker&rsquo;s.&nbsp;</p> By Julian Kreimer Wed, 11 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-walker_152938323476.jpg_standalone.jpg Ursula Von Rydingsvard http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/ursula-von-rydingsvard-1/ <p>Ursula von Rydingsvard has created sculptures out of cedarwood for the past 35 years.&nbsp;</p> By Eric Sutphin Tue, 10 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-von-rydingsvard_151013530078.jpg_standalone.jpg Sean Landers http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/sean-landers/ <p>A compelling struggle between uncomfortably revealing candor and bombastic narcissism once drove Sean Landers&rsquo;s work. Although these qualities still resonate, the force behind the 23 recent paintings in his show &ldquo;North American Mammals&rdquo; is different.&nbsp;</p> By Dennis Kardon Mon, 09 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-landers_150011369362.jpg_standalone.jpg Greer Lankton http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/greer-lankton/ <p>&ldquo;Love Me,&rdquo; the first New York survey of work by the late artist Greer Lankton, was a tour de force of resolve organized in collaboration with Lankton&rsquo;s former husband, Paul Monroe. Two years in the making, it represented a vital contribution to the history of the 1980s East Village art scene, as well as an ode to one of its most beloved&mdash;if, until now, largely forgotten&mdash;icons.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> By Jane Ursula Harris Fri, 06 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-lankton_144054334975.jpg_standalone.jpg Takashi Murakami http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/takashi-murakami/ <p>I like to play a game before I see a new exhibition by a celebrated artist: on the train ride to the gallery, I make highly specific guesses about what the pieces on view might be.</p> By Sean Patrick Carney Thu, 05 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/03/img-murakami_113851728686.jpg_standalone.jpg Walter Liedtke, 1945-2015 http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/news/met-curator-walter-liedtke/ <p>Walter Liedtke, curator of European paintings at the Metropolitan Museum of Art died Tuesday in a train accident.</p> By Harry Feldman Thu, 05 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/05/img-liedtke_171228568581.jpg_standalone.jpg Judith Scott http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/judith-scott/ <p>Judith Scott (1943-2005) did not begin making art until her mid 40s, but over an 18-year period, from 1987 until her death, she worked on that art tirelessly.&nbsp;</p> By Faye Hirsch Tue, 03 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/03/img-judith-scott-er_113348244410.jpg_standalone.jpg Stan Shellabarger http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/stan-shellabarger/ <p>References to "process" in art are so common that the word has become almost clich&eacute;. But in discussing the intriguing performative work of Chicago artist Stan Shellabarger, it is impossible to not talk about process, because everything he does revolves around it.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> By Kyle MacMillan Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2014/12/20/img-stan-shellabarger_203420912881.jpg_standalone.jpg N. Dash http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/n-dash/ By Jennifer S. Li Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2014/12/20/img-n-dash_203549738005.jpg_standalone.jpg Ai Weiwei http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/ai-weiwei/ <p>The exhibition title "@Large: Ai Weiwei on Alcatraz" suggests<strong>&nbsp;</strong>a meaningful link between the dissident artist, who spent three months in detention in China in 2011, and the crumbling former federal penitentiary on a 22-acre island in San Francisco Bay.</p> By Robert Atkins Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2014/12/20/img-ai-weiwei_20421125227.jpg_standalone.jpg Eric Fischl http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/eric-fischl-1/ <p>Eric Fischl's new cycle of paintings depicting contemporary art fairs may seem a giddy leap from the subdued suburban eroticism of his seminal works.&nbsp;&nbsp;</p> By James Cahill Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2014/12/20/img-eric-fischl_204458967637.jpg_standalone.jpg Judith Bernstein http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/judith-bernstein/ <p>American artist Judith Bernstein (b. 1942) is now enjoying a much higher degree of visibility than she did during her early career.&nbsp;</p> By Aoife Rosenmeyer Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2014/12/20/img-judith-bernstein_204617966226.jpg_standalone.jpg Victor Burgin http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/victor-burgin/ <p>The atmosphere at Lia Rumma gallery during British artist Victor Burgin's recent solo exhibition was clean, cerebral and spare, seeming to emanate the temperament of the artist-theorist.&nbsp;</p> By Federico Florian Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2014/12/20/img-victor-burgin_204815530703.jpg_standalone.jpg Anne Hardy http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/reviews/anne-hardy/ <p>Since the 1960s and '70s, sculpture's "expanded field"&nbsp; has produced transient forms&mdash;temporary installations, performances, Earth works&mdash;that often continue to exist only in photographic documentation.&nbsp;</p> By Mark Prince Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2014/12/20/img-anne-hardy_204926336772.jpg_standalone.jpg Inventing Pop Abstraction http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/magazine/inventing-pop-abstraction/ <p>Uniting firmly outlined forms and bold colors, American painter Nicholas Krushenick created a new nonobjective vocabulary in the 1960s.</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> <p>&nbsp;</p> By Stephen Westfall Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/02/img-krushenik_094239742015.jpg_wide_hthumb.jpg In the Studio: Richard Aldrich http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/magazine/in-the-studio-richard-aldrich/ <p>With paintings currently in a group show at New York's MoMA, Richard Aldrich discusses literature, music, therapy and his own earlier artworks&mdash;all elements in his instinctive, self-reverential, constantly evolving creative process.</p> By Ross Simonini Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/02/img-in-the-studio_101649431881.jpg_wide_hthumb.jpg The Breath of Life http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/magazine/the-breath-of-life/ <p>Long an icon of feminism and sexual liberation, the artist now finds artistic counsel, erotic pleasure and spiritual sustenance in her many kissing cats.</p> By Carolee Schneemann Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/02/img-muse_093024717643.jpg_wide_hthumb.jpg niv Acosta http://www.artinamericamagazine.com/news-features/magazine/niv-acosta/ <p>Departing from his Denzel Washington obsession, the transgender Dominican artist debuts a four-person dance performance that mixes disco beats, racial themes and sci-fi speculations.</p> By William S. Smith Mon, 02 Feb 2015 00:00:00 +0100 /files/2015/02/02/img-niv-acosta_093418965921.jpg_standalone.jpg