Artists Selected for 2013 deCordova Biennial


The deCordova Sculpture Park and Museum in Lincoln, Mass., has selected 21 New England-based artists and collaboratives for the 2013 deCordova Biennial (Oct. 9, 2013-Apr. 13, 2014). The artists comprise a mix of sculptors, filmmakers and performance artists who represent a range of practices from the region. This is the biennial’s third installment.  

The artists are Hamra Abbas, Sonia Almeida, Nancy Andrews, Laura Braciale, Jonathan Calm, Patty Chang and David Kelley, Pat Falco, Peter Gallo, Petrova Giberson, Jacin Giordano, John C. Gonzalez, Rachel Gross, Lynne Harlow, Xylor Jane, Jilaine Jones, Ethan Murrow, Anthony Palocci Jr., Dushko Petrovich and Roger White, J.R. Uretsky, Suara Welitoff, and Bahar Yurukoglu.

Assistant curator Lexi Lee Sullivan made the selection with help from an advisory board comprised of curators Sarah Suzuki, associate curator of the department of prints and illustrated books at New York’s Museum of Modern Art; Rachel Adams, associate curator, AMOA-Arthouse, Austin, Tex.; and Nora Lawrence, associate curator, Storm King Art Center, New Windsor, N.Y.

DeCordova announced the hiring of Jennifer Gross as chief curator earlier this month.