CAA Honorees Include Ellsworth Kelly, Elaine Sturtevant T. J. Clark



The College Art Association announced its 2013 honorees today. The recipients will receive their awards on Feb. 13 at the Hilton New York ballroom, during the CAA’s annual conference. Ellsworth Kelly is honored with a lifetime achievement award celebrating his seven-decade career, and the Paris-based American artist Elaine Sturtevant is recognized for her distinguished body of work, given for her recent exhibition at Gavin Brown’s enterprise, “Rock & Rap /c Simulacra.”

Writing awards go to T. J. Clark (Picasso and Truth: From Cubism to Guernica), Hal Foster (The First Pop Age: Painting and Subjectivity in the Art of Hamilton, Lichtenstein, Warhol, Richter, and Ruscha and The Art-Architectural Complex), and Claire Bishop (Artificial Hells: Participatory Art and the Politics of Spectatorship).

Harmony Hammond, Martha Rosler, Buzz Spector, June Hargrove, Mary K. Coffey, Philipp Kaiser, Miwon Kwon, Yukio Lippit, Lance Mayer, Gay Myers, Joanne Pillsbury, Miriam Doutriaux, Reiko Ishihara-Brito and Alexandre Tokovinine  will also be honored next month.


PHOTO: Sturtevant as Beuys.