National Academy Announces 2013 Academicians


The National Academy Museum & School has announced its newly elected members for 2013, a group of artists and architects chosen for their significant contributions to contemporary American art and architecture.

Joining the historic roster of over 2,000 academicians are artists Marina AbramoviÄ?, Vito Acconci, Dotty Attie, Alice Aycock, Mark Bradford, Barkley L. Hendricks, Christian Marclay, James Rosenquist, Lorna Simpson, Barbara Takenaga, Carrie Mae Weems, Fred Wilson and Sarah Sze; and architects David Adjaye, Paul Broches, Kate Orff, William Pedersen, Renzo Piano and Moshe Safdie. Members are elected annually by the full body of the National Academy, which includes over 300 artists and architects.

As members, they will support the Academy’s mission of promoting art and architecture in the U.S. A ceremony will be conducted on Oct. 29, at which each artist will contribute a representative work to add to the National Academy’s permanent collection.

PHOTO: The National Academy Museum. Photo David Plakke Media.