Shortlist Revealed for Pinchuk’s $100,000 Future Generation Prize


The PinchukArtCentre in Kiev, Ukraine, has announced the nominees for the third edition of its Future Generation Prize, a $100,000 award given biannually to an artist up to 35 years old. From among 5,500 applications, the seven-member selection committee has chosen 21 artists from 17 countries. In past years, 20 artists were included on the art prize shortlist; however, this year, the committee has made room for one more: 32-year-old Ukrainian artist Zhanna Kadyrova, who won the $8,500 PinchukArtCentre Prize in 2013, an award given to Ukrainian artists 35 or under. Previous winners of the $100,000 Future Generation Prize are London-based painter Lynette Yiadom-Boakye, 2012, and Brazilian multimedia artist Cinthia Marcelle, 2010.

The 2014 Future Generation Prize winner will take home $60,000 in cash and $40,000 in new project funding. The selection committee included Raphael Chikukwa, chief curator of the National Gallery of Zimbabwe as chairman, Björn Geldhof, deputy artistic director of the PinchukArtCentre and Giacinto di Pietrantonio, director of the Galleria d’Arte Moderna e Contemporanea (GAMeC) in Bergamo, Italy.

The shortlist consists of eight artists from Europe, five North Americans, three South Americans, three from Asia and two from Africa. Among these nominees are American artists Cécile Evans and Allyson Vieira; English artists James Bridle and Cally Spooner; Canadian artist Jonathan Rafman; Ukrainian Nikita Kadan; and the Arabian Gulf-based collective GCC.

An exhibition of the works of all shortlisted artists will go on view at the Pinchuk Art Center from Oct. 25. In December, a jury of international contemporary art experts will announce the main prizewinner at a ceremony in Kiev. The jury includes curator Francesco Bonami; Philip Tinari, director of Beijing’s Ullens Center for Contemporary Art; Adam Szymczyk, director and chief curator, Kunsthalle Basel; and Colombian artist Doris Salcedo.

Also in December, the Viktor Pinchuk Foundation plans to give an additional $20,000 to fund a residency program for a special prize winner selected by the jury. This prize can be awarded to an individual artist or spread among a group of up to five artists from the shortlist. If the jury sees fit, the amount can be increased.