The Whitney Biennial List Is Out


The New York Observer has leaked the list of artists selected by curators Elisabeth Sussman and Jay Sanders for the 2012 Whitney Biennial. The list mixes emerging and emerged talent and features relatively few on-trend artists (Kai Althoff, Moyra Davey, Michael E Smith, Nick Mauss). Emerging talent includes Matt Hoyt and K8 Hardy. Sanders worked with Richard Hawkins and John Knight in his previous job, as director of New York’s Greene Naftali Gallery.

1.Kai Althoff
2.Thom Andersen
3.Charles Atlas
4.Lutz Bacher
5.Forrest Bess (by Robert Gober)
6.Michael Clark
7.Dennis Cooper and Gisèle Vienne
8.Cameron Crawford
9.Moyra Davey
10. Liz Deschenes
11. Nathaniel Dorsky
12. Nicole Eisenman
13. Kevin Jerome Everson
14. Vincent Fecteau
15. Andrea Fraser
16. LaToya Ruby Frazier
17. Vincent Gallo
18. K8 Hardy
19. Richard Hawkins
20. Werner Herzog
21. Jerome Hiler
22. Matt Hoyt
23. Dawn Kasper
24. Mike Kelley
25. John Kelsey
26. Jutta Koether
27. John Knight
28. George Kuchar
29. Laida Lertxundi
30. Kate Levant
31. Sam Lewitt
32. Joanna Malinowska
33. Andrew Masullo
34. Nick Mauss
35. Richard Maxwell
36. Sarah Michelson
37. Alicia Hall Moran and Jason Moran
38. Laura Poitras
39. Matt Porterfield
40. Luther Price
41. Lucy Raven
42. The Red Krayola
43. Kelly Reichardt
44. Elaine Reichek
45. Michael Robinson
46. Georgia Sagri
47. Michael E. Smith
48. Tom Thayer
49. Wu Tsang
50. Oscar Tuazon
51. Frederick Wiseman