Turner Prize Shortlist Announced



The prize is awarded annually to a British artist under 50 and frequently is the subject of great controversy in the British press. Artists are nominated for a presentation of their work that took place in the preceding year.

Laure Prouvost, Tino Sehgal, David Shrigley and Lynette Yiadom-Boakye make up the shortlist for the Turner Prize this year. The winner will be announced Dec. 2.

Prouvost, a filmmaker, is nominated for her Tate and Grizedale Arts (Coniston) commission Wantee, a 2013 video addressing the legacy of German artist Kurt Schwitters, and her two-part installation for the Max Mara Art Prize for Women, Farfromwords (2013). “Prouvost’s unique approach to filmmaking, often situated within atmospheric installations, employs strong story telling, quick cuts, montage and deliberate misuse of language to create surprising and unpredictable work,” says a press release from the Tate.

Sehgal was picked for his project at Documenta XIII, This Variation (2012), and another at Tate Modern, These Associations (2012). Sehgal addresses esthetic and philosophical questions through interaction and performance, hiring performers to undertake unexpected acts in gallery spaces or to engage audiences in conversation. “Through participation,” says the Tate, Sehgal’s works “test the limits of artistic material and audience perception.”

Shrigley got the nod for his 2012 solo exhibition at London’s Hayward Gallery, “David Shrigley: Brain Activity.” Shrigley’s drawings reveal “black humour, macabre intelligence and infinite jest,” according to the Tate.

Yiadom-Boakye, recently winner of the Future Generation Art Prize, was nominated for her 2012 exhibition at London’s Chisenhale Gallery, “Extracts and Verses.” The artist paints mysterious portraits of imaginary people that, the Tate says, “raise pertinent questions about how we read pictures in general, particularly with regard to black subjects.”

The members of the Turner Prize 2013 jury are: Annie Fletcher, curator of exhibitions, Van Abbemuseum, Eindhoven; Susanne Gaensheimer, director of the Museum für Moderne Kunst Frankfurt; Declan Long, writer and lecturer at National College of Art and Design, Dublin; Ralph Rugoff, director of the Hayward Gallery, London; and Penelope Curtis, director, Tate Britain.

PHOTO: Tino Sehgal and participants of These Associations. Photo Johnny Green.