United States Artists Announces 2012 Fellows



United States Artists announced the selection of its 2012 USA Fellows yesterday at a gala at the Getty Center, Los Angeles. Each of the 54 new fellows will receive a $50,000 grant that they may spend as they see fit. The awards are distributed in eight artistic disciplines, including theater arts, architecture and design, dance and literature.
USA Fellows are nominated by an anonymous group of leading critics, scholars and artists, and, after submitting a brief application and samples of their work, are selected by a panel of their peers. Artists may be at any stage of their career, but must be legal U.S. residents of at least 21 years of age. Since beginning the fellowship program in 2006, USA has awarded about $17.5 million in grants.

Among this year’s winners, who include author Annie Prolux and jazz drummer Jack DeJohnette, are eight visual artists.

Luis Camnitzer, USA Ford Fellow, Great Neck, N.Y.
Coco Fusco, USA Berman Bloch Fellow, Brooklyn, N.Y.
Theaster Gates, USA Kippy Fellow, Chicago, Ill.
David Hartt, USA Cruz Fellow, Chicago, Ill.
Edgar Heap of Birds, USA Ford Fellow, Oklahoma City, Okla.
William Leavitt, USA Rockefeller Fellow, Los Angeles, Calif.
Alison Saar, USA Jeanne and Michael Klein Fellow, Fontana, Calif.
Kerry Tribe, USA Simon Fellow, Los Angeles, Calif.